An Embarrassment of Riches

Kilmore Quay, County Wexford.

This post was shot, edited and blogged entirely with an iPhone SE.

Needed a break this evening. So I cleaned the lens and screen of the iPhone SE, stuck it and the shoulderpod S1 grip in my pocket and along with Woody, the dawg, headed for Kilmore Quay, one of Ireland’s fishing ports, and a generally nice place to visit.

We got there just on dusk and I was surprised to see a flock of starlings on the pier. What a racket!!

As you can see, the light was pretty good with good cloud formations, calm water and a lowish tide and the images held up well in post processing.

It’s easy to fall into the ‘chocolate box’ trap on evenings like this :

I’ve more or less given up on the type of picture above, but it gives you a sense of the environment this evening, so worth including for context.

These more geometrical images are more interesting, i think

I took a lot more photos than usual. Quite interesting doing this with a 40kg German Shepherd tagging along on a leash, by the way!

Anyway. Instinct and composition was somewhat erratic as I’ve been on two big commercial jobs this week which had me in ‘machine gun’ mode. (Photographing mostly animals, but that’s for another day). So it took me a while to get into my photographing and editing for Instagram zone.

Kinda swopped what feels like 40kg of Canon and Elinchrom equipment for 40kg of dog:

As I continue to work with these minimalist consumer tools and cheap or free editing apps I’m becoming more and more disciplined and liberated from the need to plan a photo shoot in advance.

Hope you enjoy.

Ger

Leave a Reply

